This was the Esperanto Association of Britain's site from 2005 to 2018. You will find its current site at

Esperanto-Asocio de Britio 2018 Annual General Meeting

[This is a "stop-press"/placeholder report - a more comprehensive report will be published in EAB Update or a copy of the minutes will be circulated to members with EAB Update]

EAB's 41st Annual General Meeting was held on 15th April 2018 at Morlan Centre, Aberystwyth. The meeting was chaired by Kat Newbould with fellow trustees Damon Lord, Clare Hunter, Ed Robertson and Sally Phillips. EAB president Ian Carter sent a video message honouring Marjorie Boulton.

The draft minutes of the previous AGM [in Edinburgh, May 2017] were presented. There was a lengthy discussion of suggested corrections and refinements to those minutes. The minutes (with agreed corrections) were approved as an accurate record of that previous AGM.

Clare Hunter presented the Trustees' Report [for year ending October 2017] and Financial Report [for year ending October 2017]. A full version of the financial report is available from the (relevant section of) the Charity Commission website, or on request to Esperanto House.

A question had been submitted about the Trustees' Handbook; Clare explained that this had become outdated and had been superseded by a Trustees' Induction Presentation which is presented to all new trustees.

The proposals to re-appoint the current independent examiner, and to leave the [voting member] subscription rates unchanged, were approved.

The proposal to amend the constitution ("object of the association") was discussed and voted upon.

Amend the constitution4382

This proposal will now be submitted to the Charity Commission for their consideration (as, legally, it cannot be adopted witout their approval).

The votes for the Mananagement Committee* were counted by Viv O'Dunne.
[*The Management Committee comprises the Trustees of the Association.]
Ian Carter, Edmund Grimley Evans, Clare Hunter, Damon Lord, Laura Miller, Kathryn Newbould and Ed Robertson were elected as trustees.

Ian Carter47103
Edmund Grimley Evans5442
Clare Hunter5541
Damon Lord5253
Laura Miller43314
Kathryn Newbould5712
Ed Robertson5145

Ian Carter was the sole candidate for president of the Association, and so was re-appointed president.

The meeting ended with further discussion and suggestions from the membership. Tim Owen presented a proposal for the 2019 British Experanto Conference - the 100th - to be held in Dover, with an optional day excursion to Calias.

Trustees lead the AGM

[Return to EAB reports list]
[EAB Homepage]